Gmail Phishing Campaign

July 24, 2018 - 1 minute read

Gmail Phishing Campaign

Recently Google added a new “Confidential Mode” to their Gmail service, which is supposed to increase email security. Unfortunately, with any new service, the hackers have found a way to exploit it. If you are not using Gmail and receive an email from a Gmail user using “Confidential Mode” you will need to click on a link in order to view the email. Hackers are using this new feature by mimicking the message of a “Confidential Mode” email from Gmail and using it for phishing campaigns.

As with most phishing campaigns, hackers make the email look legitimate in hopes you click on the link. This is a great reminder to think before you click and to verify the email is legitimate before clicking any links or downloading any files from it.